Friday, 29 July 2011

Ooops

I'm so ashamed! I don't have a laptop, so I can't update this, so I do have a pretty good excuse. And when I do have the laptop I'm too busy keeping in touch with my excellent parents.

The time here is going quite well, I will try to write another post soon. In fact I downright promise so that I cannot get out of it. I will also take a camera and take some pictures, as my facebook album (my non existent facebook album) is... non existent.

:D

Monday, 4 July 2011

Fourth of July!

Let me start by saying that I think my bear is quite happy to be without me, lounging as he is on my bed, and he looks like he's laughing. Never mind, I will find myself a replacement. That or accept that I'm too old for a teddy bear. Nahhh, replacement.

Anyways it is now the fourth of July such an interesting holiday... we get to stand and watch people celebrating their freedom from... us. I don't understand how anyone would want to be free from the English, we're such an amazing country and obviously people would want to associate with us, rather than trying to break free from us.

I have to say that fireworks in this 'independent' country that can't seem to stop borrowing from China, are never quite as good as back home, but maybe if we go 'downtown' we will see something that looks less like Max put bicarbonate of soda in a class of vinegar and more thousands of dollars of wasted money to celebrate freedom from...me :'(

I take these things very personally and at the end of the fireworks, naturally I start to hum 'God Save the Queen' - talking of which, yesterday afternoon in church when we were waiting for the service the organist was so kind as to play that tune.... we definitely felt at home :P We couldn't exactly sing along, but you know, it was there.

Anyways, I will now go and celebrate the fact that we get an extra holiday here, and make the most of it. If people want to go on about how happy they are to be free from the English, I will just look at them until they realise how much they wish they were English too :)

xx

Friday, 1 July 2011

New Car!

So this is what I'll be driving for the summer. It's a Dodge Grand Caravan 2006 and has DVD player and GPS. I just realised that means I'll never get to watch a DVD in the back cos I'll be the sucker driving.
I suppose I could watch it, we'd just die, that's all.
The car is huge compared to my little one at home...
And of course I'm driving on the wrong side of the road, so I'm pleased that the new car has a few scratches at the back, cos that means when I hit it against pillar boxes, innocent pedestrians, other cars (usually only ever expensive other cars) no-one will be the wiser and I shall drive off into the night innocently :)

Hopefully this evening the kids will be able to play football if the rain holds off... annndddd having said that I looked out the window and the rain hasn't held off, so football is mostly likely going to be called off. Oh wait, we're the ones that will call it off... so techincally I could force them to play in the rain for my own amusement :P

Right, LUNCH!